Charlotte's Story

Bliss House Novel Book 2

by Laura Benedict

Indie Published

January 25, 2021

Available in: e-Book (reprint)

Charlotte's Story
by Laura Benedict

A stylish, mid-century gothic set in Virginia’s picturesque countryside.

Charlotte Bliss’s idyllic 1950s life changed forever the day her beloved young daughter, Eva, died. Neither her husband, Preston, nor Bliss House—a majestic, historic house that remembers every evil act that has occurred within its walls—will let her forget her guilt and shame. Except Charlotte doesn’t yet know the truth of Eva’s death, or even the true purpose of her marriage into the Bliss family. The battle for the life of her sweet toddler, Michael, as well as her own sanity, pits her against the dark, formidable legacy of Bliss House. Charlotte is stronger than she thinks she is, but she needs help. And the only person who is ready to help her is already dead.

Charlotte’s Story is part of the Bliss House Gothic Series, which also includes the novels Bliss House and The Abandoned Heart. The books and stories in the series can be read in any order.

Originally published June 2014 in hardcover and eBook and October 2016 in trade paperback by Pegasus.

Laura Benedict's Bio

Laura Benedict is the Edgar- and ITW Thriller Award- nominated author of seven novels of suspense, including the forthcoming The Stranger Inside (February 2019). Small Town Trouble, her latest book, is a cozy crime novel. Her Bliss House gothic trilogy includes The Abandoned Heart, Charlotte's Story (Booklist starred review), and Bliss House. Her short fiction has appeared in Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine, and in numerous anthologies like Thrillers: 100 Must-Reads, The Lineup: 20 Provocative Women Writers, and St. Louis Noir. A native of Cincinnati, she lives in Southern Illinois with her family. Visit her at to read her blog and sign up for her quarterly newsletter.